What a weekend. Blizzcon was so much fun!! As you all know by now we have a new expansion to look forward to: World of Warcraft Cataclysm. The crowd went nuts when it was officially announced.

The convention itself was quite something. There was plenty to do and see. We checked out booths that demoed Razor products such as keyboards, mice and headphones – which is currently on my wishlist.

Here’s a quick recap of my weekend:

Thursday: I landed in Orange County about 7:45pm after a flight delay of a possible oil leakage from engine 1 of our plane. Fortunately it turned out to be only residue and the flight was nice and smooth. Once I landed and gathered my luggage, my friend Raliean and her husband Bojj met me at the airport and we headed over to the Convention Center. The hotel we stayed at was the Annabella which was very nice and super close to the Con.

We later met up with a few of their guildies and a few of my friends: Therapy and his wife Crenn, Kimberr, Wabam, Hateyourface and Charlize. They were awesome enough to stand through the massive zerg of attendees who wanted to get their goody-bag and tickets before the convention started.

Friday: Raliean and I woke up as early as we could to get our geek on. We stood in another massive zerg of Blizzard fans while we waited for the doors to open. Once they did the first thing we checked out is what Blizzard had to offer in the way of booths and panels. Then it was off to stake our seats for the Opening Ceremonies. We then stayed put since the same room held the Cataclysm Discussion Panel. The Worgen and Goblin are simply amazing.

Next it was a quick bite to eat and followed by a Hellscream Server gathering. Raliean got a great photo of everyone. After that, it was another camp out for the World of Warcraft Class Discussion Panel. This is what I’d been waiting for as a Hunter. Mana GONE, Attack Power GONE, Armor Penetration GONE. Huge changes as we Hunters know it.

We finished off the evening with the Costume Contest, Dance Contest and Sound-a-Like Contest hosted by Jay Mohr. He was really funny and had great interaction with all the contestants. It’s unfortunate that DirectTV cut it shorter than it was. Everyone was amazing on stage: beautiful costumes, great dancers and brave voice artists.

Saturday: Somehow I managed to get up earlier than the day before to stand in line. I had a goal though, I was going to play the new classes before things became overly crowded. The wait was worth it since my friends and I got in quickly and had a computer with very little wait. Blizzard gave us about 10 minutes to check out the Worgen and Goblins. Both are very fun. They started us off at level 6 because I guess they have some great story for the first 5 levels which they don’t want spoiled yet.

The next panel we scoped out was the WoW Game Systems, which broke down the old and new mechanics of the game such as the new Guild Leveling system and the new Path of the Titans. After that was a sneak preview of 3.3’s Icecrown Dungeon and new raids and instances in Cataclysm in the Dungeon’s and Raid Panel.

We had some time to kill afterward so we grabbed a nice lunch at the Tangerine Restaurant and headed back to the hall to hold our seats for the Ozzy Concert. Level 80 Elite Tauren Cheiftans, now known as “The Artists Formaly Known as Level 80 Elite Tauren Chiftans,” opened for Ozzy. They played their typical Warcraft songs plus a Starcraft and Diablo themed song to warm up the crowd. When it was time for Ozzy the place erupted in a frenzy. Ozzy was insanely entertaining, yelling at the fans, singing his biggest hits all while he hosed the audience down with some type of white foam/make-up substance which was  followed up by large buckets of water. My favorite part of the concert was when Ozzy brought up a young 7yr old kid who played a guitar that was as big as he was. This kid rocked it out on Crazy Train. He was incredible.

Sunday: Went to Disneyland. We saw Mickey, Donald and all the other big players. Rode some rides, had a blast on the Buzz Lightyear ride (lazer guns ftw) and Raliean and I got our toon’s names on a pair of Mickey Ears. Eventhough they’re not allowed to do that kind of thing.

I did take pictures of the convention that I plan on sharing with everyone. I’m waiting for Raliean to get back so I can share hers as well. Keep your eyes open for a link on the left side of my blog. I will also make a post when they are up.

All in all, I had a great time and met a lot of great and wonderful people. If life permits, I hope I can go back next year. 🙂 Until then, I can’t wait for Cataclysm to come out.

