ulduarimageI was invited last night to <Armored Justice>’s first Ulduar raid. We only managed to pass the first encounter, Flame Leviathan. At first I was a little nervous since I had no idea what to do and this fight is a battle of vehicles. There was 3 vehicles to chose from and I picked Demolisher to drive. I’ll admit, I didn’t do too bad – though I hoped the Pally who was riding shotgun didn’t get too sick from my crazy turns.

The jist of the battle is to destroy the tall towers which is defended by mobs that spawn in the gauntlet. Each seige vehicle has their own specialty: Choppers lay down tar and can heal other vehicles who need repair, Demolishers are more of a long range DPS machine and can launch their passengers, while Sieges kite the Flame Leviathan around, ignite oil put down by the Choppers and can shoot down air targets. It sounds overwhelming, but the fight is a lot of fun.

After Flame Leviathan we gave a few tries on Razorscale. That didn’t go so well. Everyone’s timing seemed to be off, DPS was too spread out and our Tank was trying to tank and run the harpoons at once. It was getting late and we decided to try one more boss, XT-002 Deconstructor.

I won’t spoil too much about this fight but make sure you have your sound on for this battle. The toughest challenge with this fight is to pay attention. At one point he’ll toss out two debuffs one people: A Gravity Bomb and a Light Bomb. Each are bad and each require you to be out of the range of people or it can blow up the raid – think of the Living Bomb from Baron Geddon in Molten Core. At 75, 50 and 25% XT will drop his heart onto the ground, which your DPS focus will shift to.

Our biggest issue was people paying not attention to their Bomb debuffs. Not everyone had updated mods or they were disoriented and forgot which way to run. Some even forgot to run – eek. Eventually burn-out set in and our raid was called at 11pm server. All-in-all everyone seemed pretty pleased, even though we only took down one boss. I have a feeling that Sunday will be a different story and <Armored Justice> will add 2 or 3 more bosses to our defeated list.

As a Hunter, the first fight really isn’t tailored to our style of DPS – you’re driving a machine. Though I was a little rusty, I started off the raid off as Beastmaster. However, I noticed on Razorscale fight that Kiba enjoyed standing in the blue fire way too much and I spent more time trying to keep him up than DPSing.  I switched back to Marks since that seems to be my comfort zone right now. I’m still interested to see how BM will do compared to Survival and Marks.  Hopefully it won’t take me too long to get my bearings back as BM and I’ll be able to try it out in a raid environment.

