I stumbled across this blue post about the new changes to ammo. The actual link is here.

While the Hunter in me is bummed about this news, the Engineer in me is quite happy.  Anyone want to buy a box of my Mammoth Cutter Bullets? I have pets to feed.

Edit: But on the plus side 3.0.9 went live today with these Hunter Pet changes:

  • Kindred Spirits (Beast Mastery): This talent now grants 20% pet damage at max rank.
  • Serpent’s Swiftness (Beast Mastery): This talent now grants 20% pet attack speed at max rank.
  • Pets
    • Lava Breath now reduces the target’s casting speed by 25%, down from 50%.
    • Poison Spit now reduces the target’s casting speed by 25%, down from 50%.

Is this good enough to fix how hard the Beastmaster Spec was hit from the Nerf Bat? It’s hard to say without testing, but I’ll probably stick with Marks until Blizzard announces the new 3.1 tier of pet talents for those who spec 51 points into BM.