I am having the worst luck with computers! In fact 2008 is throwing me a lot of curve balls right now and I am not liking it at all! My Mac Pro I use for work decided to stop recognizing my firewire ports. Don’t know how, don’t know why- but it did. I’m taking it in to the Apple Store to get looked at. Hopefully I’ll get it back soon so my boss won’t have a heart attack.

Anywho, after talking it over with the hubby and doing troubleshooting for a week, I’ve decided to go ahead and purchase my new computer.

I did my research and asked a lot of questions about what I should get, the differences between processors, blah-blah geeky stuff. I also checked my work to see if I could get a discount through Dell but anything I could get really wasn’t built for gaming. I looked into Alienware to find that these guys (though a bit pricey) was probably my best bet. They build their computers specifically for gaming.

It’s a little more than I planned on for a computer but my last 2 PCs I had were built by friends and they didn’t necessarily use “cheap” parts but I was given parts that would allow me to do what I want – which means I could game fine but at cost of graphics, speed, things like that. As a friend said, “you get what you pay for.” Hopefully this new PC will give me more than 2.5 years of gaming.

Without further ado, the specs of my new computer:

gallery_creative_02_big.jpg

Alienware P2 Chassis: Alienware® P2 Chassis with AlienIce™ 3.0 Video Cooling – Space Black
System Lighting: Alienware® Standard System Lighting – Astral Blue
High-Performance Liquid Cooling: Alienware® Standard System Cooling
Power Supply: Alienware® 750 Watt Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
Graphics Processor: Single Graphics Processor – 512MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 8800 GT
Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 5600+ Processor w/ HyperTransport and Dual Core Technology
Memory: 2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz – 2 x 1024MB
Motherboard: Alienware® Approved NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI Motherboard
Operating System (Office software not included): Genuine Windows® XP Professional – DirectX 9 Only!
Desktop Tuners and Remotes: Media Center upgrade options are not available with Windows XP Professional.
System Drive: Single Drive Configuration – 250GB SATA 3Gb/s 7,200RPM 16MB Cache
Optical Drives : Single Drive Configuration – 20X Dual-Layer DVD±RW
Enthusiast Essentials: Dual High Performance Gigabit Ethernet Ports
Sound Card: High-Definition 7.1 Performance Audio – Standard

Now, I did look into a Mac. I have my G4 Powerbook and love it. My Mac is about 3 years old now and it still runs great. /knock on wood

What stopped me from getting another Mac was mostly the price. They are super expensive and they have yet to create that “medium Mac” where it’s better than an iMac, upgradeable but not as insanely over-powered and expensive as a Mac Pro. Also I know a lot of computer companies use PC platforms to game on, and though I was made aware that I could run Windows XP on a Mac through another program it just seems more of a hassle to me in the long run. : /

The ship date is 1/31 so I should have it within the first week of Feb some time. Looking forward to it, until then.. I’ll be leveling up my Druid since that’s about all I can do (she’s 67 yo!)

