gruul-head2.jpgLast night was a pretty kookie night. It started off with me a little bummed out and bored (gasp) of Warcraft. Mostly since I find leveling any toon a complete drag still and I’m not raiding with Wulf.

Within the past few days I’ve decided that I really need to get my druid up to 70 but it’s been difficult to juggle my Hunter and Druid time. Mostly since I’m trying to get that “face time” in with my new guild.

Nothing was going on last night so I planned on grinding out a few Winterspring quests on my druid. I plug in all my map notes and I’m off to kill Yetis when my good friend Pandas logs on. He too has been a little bored with WoW (his own personal reasons) and decided to roll a Horde Priest. We chat for a little bit then he’s back off to his new toon.

As soon as he logs, Healshock, our arena leader, types in /gu “Dang, Pandas is gone.” Pandas and I are long time buddies and I can contact him in many ways. I throw up the Bat Signal via AIM and he gets on. Yay for arena time!

We get a few runs in before Healshock’s wife had to log off for work. Still raging with bloodlust, we decide to run some 3v3 when I see the call in my /gu “If you need me for Gruul’s I can go.” I’m thinking “whoa.. Gruul’s? I’m all over that if I can get in.”

I quickly send a tell to my Guild Priest buddy, Vavictus, and he tells me that he’s not sure if they need more people so next thing I do is send a tell to my Guild Master “Do you have room for a hunter?” He replys a little later, “I’m trying to get you in.” The mean while I’m still doing 3v3 and we keep getting the Blade’s Edge Mountain Arena and now my GM is telling me “Are you here? Can we summon you.” It took me a while to figure out what he meant by “are you here” but now I’m right in the middle of the 3v3 fight. I tell him to go on without me and he follows up with a : ( And right after that I’m out of Arena (with a win I might add). I tell my GM to invite me because I am out, I jump out of my 3v3 team and it’s followed up with an “OMG” from my GM. Fortunatly, they were all in good spirits so it didn’t upset too many people but it was still pretty crazy in those last few seconds of tells (wish I would have had a screen cap it of it).

But, I got to go on a Gruul’s run. My first run. And of course, I get flack from our Pally because I’m PVP flagged. I’m like dude.. I was doing arena – it’s like telling someone to go swim but not get wet.” Personally since I’m the newbie it was just some fun picking on.

On to Gruul’s Lair. We get Maulgar down rather quickly and effortlessly.

gl-1.jpg

Which really impressed me since I tried to do a run with my old guild and it was almost as bad as pulling teeth to get people to listen. Much to my surprise Maulgar decides to drop double Pauldrons of the Fallen Hero.

Since I am a main and a lot of the guild was running on alts, I won the drop. Finally my 2pc bonus!! Unfortunately, the chance to have feign death resisted isn’t that great of a 2pc bonus and my ZA shoulders are still better than the T4. But who’s going to look a gift horse in the mouth?

Our group downs a few more trash mobs and I finally get to see Gruul face to face.

gl-2.jpg

It was pretty sweet. Now I had no idea what the fight was like or what I needed to be doing other than using Misdirection on our other tank. I figured playing a brainless-huntard and ‘pew-pewing’ (pretty much like a mage) away would be my best and safest bet. After a good 7 min, Gruul had been defeated! Woot.

Looting goes around and my Guild Master finally gets the shield he’s always wanted. He’s happy, we’re all happy.. everyone’s in a great mood. Then we find out that Gruul happened to drop Leggings of the Fallen Hero! Holy cats! The other hunter in the raid tells me he put in a good word for me to get the legs. Now I’m thinking “wow.. 2pcs of my T4 armor would be great! If only I hadn’t gotten screwed out of my helm twice by my last guild – grumble-grumble-grumble.” But since I’m still new to the guild I didn’t want to come off as a “hoot lore,” as I like to put it.

Long story short, I didn’t get the legs, but I really appreciate my fellow Hunter putting in some good words for me. I’m really looking forward to doing Gruul’s again and who knows.. maybe I’ll get some new pants the next time.

