With the smell of 2.3 in the air, I am very excited. I feel that I will be getting so much out of this patch, it’s almost an early Christmas for me. From what I’ve read up on those in the PTR, Blue Released Patch notes I’m getting love not only as a hunter but as an Engineer, Enchanter, Cook, and a Fisherman. In no particular order, I will give you some of the things that I am looking forward to from each of my professions. For more information about other classes, professions, etc check out the 2.3 PTR release notes.

engineering.jpgFirst off Engineering. Many Engineers have been asking for more content for a very long time. Engineering isn’t a very rewarding skill for those who aren’t dedicated to it. If you think it’s an easy way to make some moolah you are wrong. In fact it’s an easy way to lose moolah, especially if you’re trying to get those last points in Engineering. I went Engineering in the hopes of being a useful hunter since a lot of hunters seem to have a bad reputation and they aren’t very welcoming to groups. With Feign Death and Jumper Cables I have saved a few raids from full out wipes and saved many healers from making the long death walk back. So what are Engineers getting?

A Craftable, flying mount for starters!

engimountchanges1.jpg

Pretty cool, huh? Though I spent many hours grinding my Netherwing Faction to get my Dragon mount, I almost feel as an Engineer it is my duty to collect the needed mats for this and build my own flying contraption. Other goodies I am looking forward to:

  • Craftable Arrows which will drop from Sunfury Archers. Time to farm a new recipe.
  • Goblin Jumper Cables XL no longer are a trinket. No more warming those babies up! Though I haven’t heard if they are battle-rez capable.
  • There is a new Field Repair Robot which is “rumored” to drop from some Gan’arg Analyzers in Blades Edge Mountains.

enchanting.jpgNext on the list, Enchanting. Now there isn’t a HUGE buzz around enchanting from what I’ve seen other than the timer on Mana and Wizard Oils are extended (hardly use them anyway). What IS making me giddy is the fact the old enchant ring enchant +4 to all stats is being swapped from a Scale of the Sands Faction to a Lower City Faction. Now I actually have an enchant for my rings that will benefit me more than the +damage I have on them.

fishing.jpgOh what to look at now, how about Fishing. Okay so I grinded out this profession the long way. I sat and casted many times in the BC lakes, waiting for that 1 skill up before Blizz “fixed it.” Moving on, I still enjoy fishing but now they are adding a fun little bonus, The Weather-Beaten Journal. I can’t WAIT to fish for this, it will actually allow fish to be tracked like any other tracking profession.

inv_misc_food_15.jpgAnd we are not done yet, let’s talk Cooking. Yet another profession I thought was worthless at one time until I really looked into it. Free 30 min buffs, can’t be beat! The big thing with cooking is they’ve added new recipes which you can only gain through cooking dailies. That’s right cooking dailies. This is where the PvE in me gets excited. Especially since there’s the chance I could get the new pet food, Kibler’s Bits. And did you know the pet treats just don’t work on hunter pets but warlock pets too?

Now that I’ve ran through a small sample of the professions that I’m looking forward too what else is there? Ah yes, the hunter love. For the sake of simplicity (and that I have a raging headache now) I’m going to just cut and paste this from the PTR release notes:

  • Aimed Shot (Marksmanship) now reduces healing done to that target by 50% for 10 seconds.
  • Arcane Shot (Ranks 6 and above) now dispel 1 Magic effect in addition to their normal damage.
  • Explosive Trap: The initial damage dealt by this trap is now also increased by 10% of your ranged attack power.
  • Expose Weakness: The triggered effect from this talent will no longer use up charges of Misdirection.
  • Immolation Trap: The total damage dealt by this trap is now also increased by 10% of your ranged attack power.
  • Misdirection: This spell will now always be removed correctly if multiple Hunters overwrite each other’s Misdirection.
  • Misdirection: If a Hunter attempts to use this ability on a target which already has an active Misdirection, the spell will fail to apply due to a more powerful spell already being in effect. This will not trigger the cooldown or cost any mana.
  • Readiness: This talent now finishes the cooldown on Kill Command.
  • Serpent Sting, Immolation Trap and Explosive Trap all gain additional damage based on ranged attack power.
  • Serpent Sting: The total damage dealt by this sting is now also increased by 10% of your ranged attack power.
  • Steady Shot: Tooltip clarified to indicate base weapon damage is used in the damage calculation.
  • Trueshot Aura (Marksmanship) no longer costs mana to cast and will last until cancelled.
  • Wyvern Sting (Survival) is now instant cast and has a maximum duration of 10 seconds in PvP.
  • Wyvern Sting: This ability will no longer be overwritten by lower ranks of Wyvern Sting.

Add to this to all that hunter lovin’ but leatherworkers will be able to make 24 slot quivers and ammo pouches!!

alliance_banner.pngFinally PvP! This has been my new method of getting gear since things with my current guild aren’t going well (more on that another day). Season 3 will be released a week later after the 2.3 patch and I’m hoping I’ll have enough Arena points to get me 2 pieces of season 3 gear. I’ve been on a mad grind of Alterac Valley to get to my max of 75k Honor (18k away) so I can pickup the new boots, bracers, belt and also get some season 1 gear or weapons. The other neat thing is they are giving Dailies to AV too. Granted it’s not the 4000 Honor we first heard about, but I’ll take the 400 over nothing.

Another nice treat Blizz is giving us is they are lowing the xp needed to get from 20-60, and the experience between 30-60 from quests has been increased! Finally, maybe now I can work on my alts.

There you are, what I’m looking forward to. Other than the new 10 man instance, Zul’Aman , PvP rewards available through PvE content and badge turn ins.. OH and Karazhan now dropping badges too. Looks like this hunter has her work cut out.

